Our hotel: a place to fall in love (with)

Our hotel: a place to fall in love (with)
Our hotel: a place to fall in love (with)
Our hotel: a place to fall in love (with)
Our hotel: a place to fall in love (with)
Our hotel: a place to fall in love (with)

From the Hotel Ahnenhof, you can see, smell and hear the open sea. Right behind our garden, you will find the Sylt nature reserve with its breathtaking heath and dune landscape. The beach is right outside the door. Just a few steps in the other direction – and you are in the middle of what is probably the most prominent village in the republic. The privileged location of the Ahnenhof is augmented by its “inner qualities”: 14 lovingly furnished single and double rooms, a modern wellness area and our gourmet breakfast! An all-round feel good package!

Our breakfast: pure enjoyment

Our breakfast: pure enjoyment
Our breakfast: pure enjoyment
Our breakfast: pure enjoyment

At the latest when you spend your holidays in the Hotel Ahnenhof, the first meal of the day will also become the most important one. Take it easy – we serve our late riser breakfast from 8.30 am to 12 noon – sometimes even longer. You can sleep in and then let yourself be pampered. With coffee specialities of all kinds, delicious samova tea, juices, muesli variations, fruit salad, crispy fresh rolls and everything of what you like best on them. A glass of sparkling wine, perhaps? A fried egg or an omelette? The Ahnenhof breakfast can be served in the breakfast room, in our Frisian “pesel” (parlour), in your room or in the garden.

Our garden: a dream in green

Our garden: a dream in green
Our garden: a dream in green
Our garden: a dream in green

Many of our regulars are totally enchanted. By our garden. From our typical Sylt garden, you have a view over the Kampen heath and the cross light, out to the open sea. The legendary champagne air of Sylt in your nostrils, a good book in your hand. No matter what the wind direction, you will find a protected, quiet spot in the Ahnenhof garden: in the beach chair, on our comfortable garden furniture or on the original two-seater chair from the Schlosskopf lift in our partner village Lech-Zürs. Take your breakfast in our garden, enjoy the leisure time and simply savour life!

Our service: always there for you

Our service: always there for you
Our service: always there for you
Our service: always there for you

Bicycles with or without electric motor can be rented for a fee. For your four-legged friends: We gladly accommodate dogs by arrangement and charge a “four-paw cleaning fee” of € 9 per day. Your room will be available from 2 pm on the day of arrival. On the day of departure, please check out by 11 am. In the quieter winter months, later departure is sometimes possible by arrangement. Our hotel is relatively small and has mainly adult guests. Children of school age and older are welcome in their own room or as the second of two persons in a double room. Ask us about the possibilities.

Our wellness area: a real hot spot

Our wellness area: a real hot spot
Our wellness area: a real hot spot
Our wellness area: a real hot spot

The wellness area of the Ahnenhof with its 100 square metres is specially designed to let its users unwind gracefully: In the steam sauna, you can enjoy cosy warmth under the original starry sky of Sylt. The Finnish sauna is the classic that makes you sweat. A solarium, footbath, surge showers and a resting area round off the offering. After a sauna, you can also cool off in the garden. We are happy to provide you with cuddly bathrobes!

Our history: hospitality in the 3rd generation

Our history: hospitality in the 3rd generation
Our history: hospitality in the 3rd generation
Our history: hospitality in the 3rd generation

The Ahnenhof is a jewel in the Sylt hotel landscape. Comfort, personal service and the superb location are an extraordinarily good combination. The chronicle of the Ahnenhof is the authentic story of a small hotel in the middle of beautiful Kampen. In addition, the chronicler – senior owner Franz Scheppler, who died in 2010 – reveals many fascinating details about life in Sylt since 1930. In an amusing way, he reports on the circumstances of house building and holiday making before and after the Second World War, during the economic miracle and in the here and now. The story is framed by wonderful photos from the collection of the Scheppler family, quotes by guests and an interview on the future of the hotel. A charming and entertaining read – not only for guests of the Ahnenhof. If we have aroused your interest, please ask at reception. For “virtual” reading, you will find the Chronicle PDF here for download (in German).

  • 1879 Joseph Kratochvil founds glove manufactory in Hamburg
  • 1916 Daughter Albertine takes over the business
  • 1923 Albertine marries the forwarder Heinrich Zapf
  • 1930 The Zapfs open a textile shop in Wenningstedt
  • 1933 Opening of the branch in Kampen
  • 1936 Guesthouse Zapf is opened
  • 1939 The Zapf couple close the house and move to Hamburg
  • 1946 Guests return
  • 1950 Great fire
  • 1951 Reconstruction
  • 1969 The neighbouring property is acquired
  • 1980 Heinrich Zapf passes away
  • 1987 Albertine Zapf passes away
  • 1987 Franz and Renate Scheppler take over the business
  • 1988 Major reconstruction
  • 1989 Guesthouse Zapf becomes the “Ahnenhof”
  • 1993 Sven Scheppler appointed Hotel Director
  • 2002 Completion of the extension and conversion with wellness area
  • 2005 Extensive renovation work
  • 2010 Franz Scheppler passes away
  • 2011 Big celebration of the 75th anniversary

Unser Hotel: Ein Ort zum Verlieben

Unser Hotel: Ein Ort zum Verlieben
Unser Hotel: Ein Ort zum Verlieben
Unser Hotel: Ein Ort zum Verlieben
Unser Hotel: Ein Ort zum Verlieben
Unser Hotel: Ein Ort zum Verlieben

Vom Hotel Ahnenhof aus ist das offene Meer in Sicht-, Riech- und Hörweite. Gleich hinter unserem Garten erstreckt sich das Sylter Naturschutzgebiet mit seiner atemberaubenden Heide- und Dünenlandschaft. Der Strand liegt vor der Tür. Nur ein paar Schritte in die andere Richtung - und Sie befinden sich mittendrin im wohl prominentesten Dorf der Republik. Zur privilegierten Lage des Ahnenhofs gesellen sich die “inneren Qualitäten”: 14 liebevoll eingerichtete Einzel- und Doppelzimmer, ein moderner Wellnessbereich und unser Genießerfrühstück! Ein Rundherum-Wohlfühl-Paket!

Unser Frühstück: Ein großer Genuss

Unser Frühstück: Ein großer Genuss
Unser Frühstück: Ein großer Genuss
Unser Frühstück: Ein großer Genuss

Spätestens wenn Sie Ihre Ferientage im Hotel Ahnenhof verbringen, wird die erste auch zur wichtigsten Mahlzeit. Wir lassen es entspannt angehen - unser Langschläfer-Frühstück servieren wir von 8.30 Uhr bis 12 Uhr - gern auch länger. Sie dürfen ausschlafen und sich dann verwöhnen lassen. Mit Kaffeespezialitäten aller Art, köstlichem samova-Tee, mit Säften, Müslivariationen, Obstsalat, knackfrischen Brötchen und allem, was man darauf am liebsten mag. Dazu ein Gläschen Sekt, vielleicht? Ein Spiegelei oder ein Omelette? Das Ahnenhof-Frühstück servieren wir Ihnen gern wahlweise im Frühstücksraum, in unserem friesischen Pesel, auf Ihrem Zimmer oder im Garten.

Unser Garten: Ein Traum in Grün

Unser Garten: Ein Traum in Grün
Unser Garten: Ein Traum in Grün
Unser Garten: Ein Traum in Grün

Viele unserer Stammgäste sind total verzückt. Von unseren Garten. Aus unserem Sylt-typischen Garten schweift der Blick über die Kampener Heide und das Quermarkenfeuer bis weit auf die offene See. Die legendäre Sylter Champagnerluft in der Nase, ein gutes Buch in der Hand. Bei jeder Windrichtung finden Sie im Ahnenhof-Garten ein geschütztes, stilles Plätzchen: im Strandkorb, auf unseren gemütlichen Gartenmöbeln oder auch auf dem Original Zweier-Sessel vom Schlosskopflift aus unserer Partnergemeinde Lech-Zürs. Frühstücken Sie in unserem Garten, genießen Sie die Muße und lassen Sie es sich richtig gut gehen!

Unser Service: Immer für Sie da

Unser Service: Immer für Sie da
Unser Service: Immer für Sie da
Unser Service: Immer für Sie da

Fahrräder mit oder ohne E-Motor können Sie bei uns gegen Gebühr leihen. Für Vierbeiner gilt: Wir nehmen Hunde nach Absprache gerne auf und berechnen eine Vier-Pfoten-Reinigungsgebühr von 9 € am Tag. Ihr Zimmer steht am Anreisetag für Sie ab 14 Uhr zur Verfügung. Am Abreisetag bitten wir Sie, bis 11 Uhr auszuchecken. In den ruhigeren Wintermonaten ist nach Absprache auch manchmal eine spätere Abreise möglich. Wir sind ein kleines Hotel mit vornehmlich erwachsenen Gästen. Kinder sind ab dem Schulalter bei uns in einem eigenen Zimmer bzw. als zweite von zwei Personen im Doppelzimmer herzlich willkommen. Sprechen Sie uns einfach persönlich an.

Unser Wellnessbereich: Eine heiße Sache

Unser Wellnessbereich: Eine heiße Sache
Unser Wellnessbereich: Eine heiße Sache
Unser Wellnessbereich: Eine heiße Sache

Der Wellness-Bereich des Ahnenhofs ist mit seinen 100 Quadratmetern eigens für die Entschleunigung seiner Nutzer konzipiert: In der Dampfsauna genießen Sie wohlige Wärme unter original Sylter Sternenhimmel. Die finnische Sauna ist der Klassiker, der Sie ordentlich zum Schwitzen bringt. Solarium, Fußbad, Schwallduschen und der Ruhebereich runden das Angebot ab. Nach dem Saunieren können Sie sich auch im Garten abkühlen. Kuschel-Bademäntel stellen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung!

Unsere Geschichte: Gastlichkeit in der 3. Generation

Unsere Geschichte: Gastlichkeit in der 3. Generation
Unsere Geschichte: Gastlichkeit in der 3. Generation
Unsere Geschichte: Gastlichkeit in der 3. Generation

Der Ahnenhof ist ein Kleinod der Sylter Hotellerie. Behaglichkeit, individuelle Dienstleistung und die traumhafte Lage gehen eine außergewöhnlich gute Verbindung ein. Die Chronik des Ahnenhofs ist die authentisch aufbereitete Geschichte eines kleinen Hotels mitten im schönen Kampen. Zudem liefert der Chronist – der 2010 verstorbene Seniorchef Franz Scheppler – viele spannende Details über das Sylter Leben seit 1930. Auf amüsante Art berichtet er über die Umstände des Hausbauens und Urlaubens vor und nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, im Wirtschaftswunder und im Hier und Jetzt. Umrahmt wird die Geschichte von herrlichen Fotos aus dem Bestand der Familie Scheppler, von Gästezitaten und einem Interview zur Zukunft des Hauses. Eine charmante und kurzweilige Lektüre – nicht nur für die Gäste des Ahnenhofs. Sollten wir Ihr Interesse geweckt haben, fragen Sie an der Rezeption. Für die virtuelle Lektüre finden Sie hier das Chronik-Pdf zum Download.

  • 1879 Joseph Kratochvil gründet Handschuhmanufaktur in Hamburg
  • 1916 Tochter Albertine übernimmt das Geschäft
  • 1923 Albertine heiratet den Spediteur Heinrich Zapf
  • 1930 Die Zapfs eröffnen Textilgeschäft in Wenningstedt
  • 1933 Eröffnung der Filiale in Kampen
  • 1936 Gästehaus Zapf wird eröffnet
  • 1939 Ehepaar Zapf schließt das Haus ab und geht nach Hamburg
  • 1946 Die Gäste kehren zurück
  • 1950 Der große Brand
  • 1951 Wiederaufbau
  • 1969 Das Nachbargrundstück wird erworben
  • 1980 Heinrich Zapf verstirbt
  • 1987 Albertine Zapf verstirbt
  • 1987 Franz und Renate Scheppler übernehmen den Betrieb
  • 1988 Der große Umbau
  • 1989 Haus Zapf wird zum „Ahnenhof“
  • 1993 Sven Scheppler wird Geschäftsführer
  • 2002 Fertigstellung des An- und Ausbaus mit Wellnessbereich
  • 2005 Umfangreiche Renovierungsarbeiten
  • 2010 Franz Scheppler verstirbt
  • 2011 Großes Fest zum 75. Jubiläum